Thursday, June 7, 2012


Title:  Hallowed- An Unearthly novel
Author:  Cynthia Hand
Location:  YA Hand
Level:  13 AND UP

Hallowed is the second book in the Unearthly series.  This series does need to be read in order.  As a warning, this review may spoil some aspect of Unearthly if you haven’t read it yet.

 Hallowed starts out much like Unearthly did.  School has started, Clara has changed her hair color again, and she is having a new vision.  From her vision she knows someone she loves will die.  This is quite naturally affecting her and she pushes in areas she may not have if the vision was clearer.  As she starts trying to decipher her vision her mother begins answering some of Clara’s angel questions, although not always to her liking.  The angel club is meeting with Jeffery as an added member.  He seems to be acting a bit odd, but it could just be the teen years.  Then their Mom surprises them when she finally lets them meet the angel community through a big campout.  From that point on everything changes.  Secrets are revealed, some thrilling and others devastating. Christian continues to try to get closer to her at a cost to her relationship with Tucker. Clara feels sorrow like never before and is desperate to protect those she loves from Samjeeza.
Bottom Line:  The continuation of the Unearthly series, Hallowed, doesn’t disappoint.  I was concerned when it began much the same way as Unearthly did, but it soon picked up steam.  Samjeeza returns to make life uncomfortable.   Jeffery plays a bigger role than he did in the first book.   Some major things are revealed which help explain some characters previous actions and will change life for Clara.  I enjoyed Hallowed and would recommend it to anyone who liked Unearthly or angel stories.

Fallen in Love

Title:  Fallen in Love
Author:  Lauren Kate
Location:  YA Kate:
Level: 12 and up

Fallen in love is part of the Fallen series, but it is not necessary to read it to continue following the story line.  This book is more of an aside.  It is broken into four sections, each four chapters long, telling the love stories of some of the more prominent characters starting with Shelby and Niles falling in love.  Really?  Didn’t we see that developing in the last book?  Roland’s and Arriane’s sections reveal a bit more about them.  The last section is of course Lucinda and Daniel.  It doesn’t give you their history at all.  I felt like I was reading Passion again, which isn’t a good thing.  There is one romantic scene, but it isn't enough to make the book worth the time invested.  The best part about the whole book is the inclusion of Rapture’s first chapter.

Bottom Line:  Don’t waste your time on this one.  I think someone is trying to get more money than the series is worth.  It may pass for eh or ok, but I think we deserved better after making it through Passion.  If you truly feel a need to pick it up just read the section about Roland and Arriane.